In Cologne for the Kick Off meeting! - Reisverslag uit Keulen, Duitsland van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu In Cologne for the Kick Off meeting! - Reisverslag uit Keulen, Duitsland van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

In Cologne for the Kick Off meeting!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

01 Maart 2015 | Duitsland, Keulen

1st of March 2015
Hi Everyone,
This morning I was up at 7:30 and my dad took me to the train station in Arnhem at 8:30. My train was leaving at 9:07 and it left on time! I had a seat on the ICE which goes from the Amsterdam to Basel. It was smelling really bad!! When I told my dad about it, he asked me if it smelled like German beer, but I told him it was more like what happened when you had too much of that German beer!!! It was really bad! Fortunately they turned the airco up and it was not even a 2 hour train ride to Cologne, so it wasn’t all that bad!
We arrived at the main train station in Cologne, which is right next to the Cathedral in the City centre. I recognized this from when I was here with my grandma during our rivercruise! Unfortunately this wasn’t where the Avalon meeting was being held.
This time I decided not to go about the hard way, but I took a taxi to where I was supposed to go. Not that I have a lot of luggage with me, it is only for 10 days, but I did bring my big suitcase, because they are going to hand out uniforms this week and it will be easier to put everything in one suitcase!
I’m glad the cabdriver had a GPS in his car, because he didn’t really know where it was and he said something about thinking it was further away, that we had to go to a highway. Luckily for me his GPS found the address before we ever got to a highway!! We are near the Ford factory, so maybe I can pick out a nice new car and drive myself home at the end of the week!!
The first familier face I saw was when I got out of the taxi at the gate! The guy who replaced Geanina as Night auditor last year, is still working for this company! To be honest I couldn’t remember his name, but he looks a lot like Gru from Dispicable Me, but of course I couldn’t say that!
From the gate to the ship wasn’t that long a walk, it was just that the stones I had to drag my suitcase over were not very easy to walk on! Then I had to climb some stairs to go over some sort of earthen wall, it was really scary! And then the gangway to the ship was over the water, because there was a gap between the ship and the shore! Not very funny let me tell you!
I had to check in on the first ship and my room was on the third ship, all 4 ships are docked next to eachother. And here again I had to go up and over 2 ships to get to my room on the Avalon Affinity!
But I made it, it’s a nice room, which I’m going to share with another Senior Receptionist. I’ve unpacked my suitcase, which makes things easier and I had lunch at one of the other ships.
I met Geanina, she’s going to work as a Nighty again this season, she told me she’s going to the Creativity again. Then in the restaurant I saw Martin the Maitre’D from last year, who is now going to be Hotelmanager….on another ship as where I am going to work on!
Jayson had already told me that he was going to work with Svjetlana (last years HM) on the Poetry II in the south of France. In our room we all have a schedule of this week, telling us what to do and where to go at what time. ( it looks a bit shabby if you ask me! Some things are printed upside down and some things are really dark!) It also has a list of who’s coming to this event. So I saw my name under Receptionists with ATQ in front of it. Turns out this means I’m going to be Senior Receptionist at the Avalon Tranquility II and that’s not where Martin is going to be a Hotelmanager..he’s going to the Scenery, which is also in the south of France. So they’re all going to be working together except me.
I found that hard to swallow at first, some cruisedirectors told us they were going to make it happen, that we would all work together this year. But the Tranquility cruises from Amsterdam to Zürich and back and from Amsterdam to the Cote D’Azur (south of France) and back.
So in the end I will also be in the south of France and no doubt I will have time to see the others. Plus who knows, they thought it would be nice for me to work in Amsterdam, see my home country. And I have to admit, Amsterdam is only a little over an hour away by train!!
I’ve already checked out the itinerary, but I couldn’t make out how it works, all I know is that the first cruise starts on the 27th. I’m going to meet the HM I will be working with at this meeting as well, so I’ll introduce myself later today and I’ll try to get to know him.
So I’ve had lunch and now I’m in my room on my bed, writing my Dutch and English stories of today’s events for my blog. Nothing will happen until 6pm this evening, when there will be a formal Welcome on one of these ships.
For the rest of the week we will have different sessions from 8:30 am till 6/7pm and the rest of the evenings are off. Since we are in the middle of nowhere…at least nowhere near the city there won’t be a lot to do in the evenings!
I’ll keep you posted!
Love
Linda

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Duitsland, Keulen

A new adventure!!!

HI Everyone,

Yes, my vacation is almost over, I'm about to work my ass off again!!

Last year I came home with a contract for Second receptionist, they said I might get a new contract for Senior receptionist, but to be honest I didn't think that would happen anymore. I was actually looking for some courses I could take while I was working.

But this February they did offer me a new contract for Senior! I really did not see that one coming!!
I did have to think about it a little, you know "can I do this, I've only done it for 2 weeks last year, do I still know what to do"...the usual.

But I have decided to take this challenge and make the best of it!!
I'm very nervous about it, really scared, but ot be honest with myself I also know that if I were to work as Second again, I would become bored...I know what to do and it is not that hard...So being Senior will be good!

I'm hoping to get my own cabin this season, I will definately NOT be moving around like last year and I'm going to take 3 weeks off instead of 2 like last year, because that is just way too short!

Plus I'm going to treat myself to a trip to Australia at the end of the season, I was already planning to do this, but now it will definately be this carrot in front of my nose, to get me through this season!

I have also been invited to a Kick Off Meeting in Cologne, where I will be going tomorrow.
I thought this would be some kind of training, but it will be more of a discussion thing where we are going to come up with ways to make the Avalon guest even more happy then they already are!
I think we will also get some kind of First Aid training.

I will get to see some of my co-workers from last season, so that will be fun...plus I can ask them to tell me how things went in case I forget!

Then on the 10th of March I will go back to Arnhem, visit my rabbit in Almere and on the 19th of March I will go back to work for real...only I still don't know on which ship or which country for that matter, I'm hoping to find out next week!

I'll keep you posted!!

Love
Linda

Recente Reisverslagen:

16 November 2015

It took a while..

01 November 2015

Two more weeks to go

15 Oktober 2015

Hello again!

29 September 2015

With love from Rudesheim

17 September 2015

I'm back!!
Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 117
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12026

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: