Another move!! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Another move!! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Another move!!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

12 Augustus 2014 | Frankrijk, Rouen

August 12th 2014
So last week wasnt a very happy week so to speak…
Like I told you in my last piece, I had to move back to the cabin with the hairdresser. Of course she and he boyfriend weren’t happy with that. They asked me if I wanted to move in with our Souschef…Now I’ve spend one night with the Souschef when I came back onto the ship and that was no picknick! She works in the kitchen all day, where it is obviously very hot, so she has turned her cabin into a fridge and she snores, loudly!!
So no, I didn’t want to move in with her. For 2 days I felt like I was the one causing the problem, the one who kept them separate. I talked to Geanina about it, we get along great and are on the same level with a lot of things and she said it was ridiculous. And she was right, so on Wednesday I talked to the HM, asked her if she could help me find a way for them to be together…so we checked the cabin plan and all the people who were still going to go on vacation and for now there was just no other way. I told her about how it made me feel and she said they had no right to make me feel this way, if anything I should be the one to be angry, because I haven’t had a cabin since I got back from my vacation! Plus for some reason they are always cranky, when I told the hairdresser about me moving to the CRD room so they could be together, the first thing she said was, that it was only for a week….The HM said that they are only angry, because they think we have a solution for their problem and we’re not giving them, but they are not coming with any solutions.
So it was a relief to have spoken to her, to get it out there and to have her know what was up, in case something else would happen. Then I wanted to talk to the hairdresser, because they weren’t talking to me at all. So next morning I sat down and told her about my conversation with the HM, how we had tried to find a solution, because I really felt bad, but this is what it was and for now there was no other way. I said that it was just a rotten deal, coming back from vacation and this is what I got. All I got from her was her keeping her attention to her tablet and she said that they shouldn’t have transferred my former roommate… That did it!!! Here I was trying to help them out and I got this answer… To hell with that! I told the HM about it and I told her that I was done, if they wanted to continue this way, fine with me, two can play that game!! Funny thing was that we had thought about how one of the sailors that was in the room with her boyfriend might move in with the other one, so they could have the room her boyfriend was in for themselves. But I didn’t suggest it, in the end they did do just that though!! Unbelievable!!
Anyway, after that things went pretty much their way. Until last Sunday, when the hairdresser came up to me and said that she knew I was fed up with it too, but… on Tuesday the second sailors cabin would become empty (the sailors always go home for a couple of weeks, a few weeks on and a few weeks off), would I mind moving into that cabin, so her boyfriend could move into her cabin and the other sailor could take the one where her boyfriend was staying in now…
I thought about it for a minute and said ok, as long as they would leave me one empty closet to put my stuff in. They don’t take everything with them, since they're coming back after only a couple of weeks and nobody else ever goes into their room, they leave a lot of stuff behind. She said her boyfriend would talk to the HM about it. So next day I asked the HM if she had heard about the latest plan and she had. The other captain only has a problem with crewmembers going into the room with the alarmpanel, but that is not the one I was going to, so there was no problem. And she told me that she had also told him to get them to empty one closet.
So yesterday, thinking he had talked to the HM, I asked the boyfriend if he had asked the guys about emptying that closet….To be honest I have often thought of myself as being negative or cranky, but this guy has the monopoly on being negative, good lord!!! He said he had talked to her and that she doesn’t care if they are together or not and that she doesn’t want to help them….now I had already talked to her as well, so I knew what she had said, couldn’t believe what I was hearing. So I told him she said it was okay, as long as everyone else was okay with it, if it wasn’t going to be the room with the alarmpanel in it and if there would be an empty closet….that’s when he started to move and get those guys to get rid of their stuff.
This afternoon, after all of the guests were gone and I was on my break, I got my stuff from one cabin and moved it into the other one. I haven’t taken all of my stuff, because this is also going to be temporary and I don’t know what is going to happen next. After two weeks the sailors will be back and I have to move out again.
So why move at all, you may think… Well, I have a room to myself now, I can sleep in the bottom bed, so now climbing in and out of bed for two weeks.. No I didn’t mind moving for that!! Haha
So what will happen in two weeks, I don’t know, there’s still some people going on vacation and coming back, so we’ll see.
Today we’ve started our 12th to last cruise, we’re counting down! Our CRD is someone we haven’t had before this year and so far I don’t know what to think of him, other then that he talks a lot!! We’ll see what the week brings! It is an Art and Impressionist cruise, there are extra lectures and painting classes. The first lecture is tomorrow morning at 8:15 am…who in the world would want to attend a lecture at 8:15 am when they are on vacation????? I don’t think it is going to be very busy! Haha We’ll see!
I hope the weather is going to be better this week, last week was really, really bad. Almost every day it was raining.
We’ve had some weird things happening last cruise. One of our guests broke her shoulder while out on an excursion, then another guest was told that his mother had died (for some reason they didn’t leave the cruise, they stayed until the end..), one guest had a problem with his oxygen machine and several guests had a cold and wanted to go out to a pharmacy I a small village, on a Sunday….
The same day the guest who heard about his mother’s day, I got a message from my dad that one of my grandma’s best friends had died that morning. She had been sick for a while and basically thought it was time to go, she was 97 years old. I feel really bad for my grandma, because this was the friend she had most in common with. The other one is just a grumpy old woman who doesn’t get my grandma’s humor. I hope my grandma is going to be alright and live to be a 100, because we still have a lot more rivercruises to do! Plus when we get to be 100, we end up climbing out of the window and have some new adventures!! Hahah It is a book written by Jonas Johansen and you have just got to read it, it is hilarious!!! It is called “the 100 year old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared” it is a must read!!!
Well, that is it for now, I’m going to have a good night’s sleep, it has been a long and busy day!


  • 15 Augustus 2014 - 10:38

    Karen Simpson:

    Hi Linda
    Have really enjoyed keeping up with your life on t he waves and feel as if I know some of the people you talk about from the description you give......I can imagine how unpleasant it must have been for you having to share a cabin with such and awkward and difficult person as the hairdresser...I bet she isn't like that to her sailing customers!.Makes you wonder if the relationship will last between her and her boyfriend eh?Who cares?

    Well you obviously have made a positive impression on the people who matter after being temporary promoted to Senior position in such a short time...your bosses quite clearly saw in you how capable and competent you are in coping with the stresses and strains of life at sea.I'm soooo pleased that things are working out for you after feeling so despondent working in the department store...your endeavour to find more compatible work has paid off......Yippee.

    Oh I do hope the opportunity arises for you to work on the paddle steamer in Mississippi...what an adventure...anyway que sera que sera!!

    I wish I had been one of the passengers to watch the show the crew put on ..it sounded real good fun...another string to your bow if need be...an aspiring actress!

    Keep the updates coming.....as they are a pretty good read.....LuvfrmKaren






Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Rouen

Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 87
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12092

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: