Another story! - Reisverslag uit Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Another story! - Reisverslag uit Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Another story!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

09 Mei 2014 | Frankrijk, Conflans-Sainte-Honorine

May 2nd 2014

I had my half day off yesterday and I was really glad about that!!!
I’m very tired at the moment, so this was one I could really use!
Lack of sleep makes things go wrong, you know the little things. Really annoying, right after getting that compliment from the HM, feels like Murphy’s Law!

Monday’s and Tuesday’s are the longest days, you start early, finish late and hardly get a break in between. Eventhough working at reception isn’t nrealy as hard as working in the restaurant, these are also long days for us.

And not being able to sleep, makes matters worse. I have been talking to my roommate, told her I had tried to sleep with her lights on, but I can’t. So I asked her to turn it off. I mean she comes in and wakes me up, because she turns on the big lights, then she goes to bed and leaves her bedside light on and then she wakes me up in the morning, when she gets dressed to go to work. Using of course the big lights….So I told her all this and at first she said she needed the light to be able to wake up on time in the morning, she has an alarm on her cellphone, which now sometimes goes off when she’s already taking a shower…then she said I would need to help her get up on time, No Way!! I have told her a couple of times to go and buy an alarm, if she doesn’t trust her cellphone, but she hasn’t done that yet.
But the last two nights she has turned off her light, so far so good.

We’ll see how thinsg go. I think she may even be gone soon anyway! Not that she has heard anything about transferring to another ship, but she had a talk with the Maitre’D and the HM this morning. They told her to get things right within the next week…not sure what happens after that, but I don’t think they will keep her if she doesn’t get her act together. She’s telling me they’re not treating her fairly, when she makes a small mistake they tell the Maitre, but when they make a mistake nothing happens…I don’t know if all this is true, I don’t work in the restaurant, so I can’t tell. But somehow it does sound like they would like to get rid of her…I’d say simply transfer her to another ship and you’re done, but I guess it doesn’t work that way.
So we’ll see how things go. I do feel sorry for her, I think she is trying to make things work, but it’s not for me to decide wether or not she stays.

In the meantime we have new group of 125 people and a new CruiseDirector Tony, from the UK. They had forewarned me about him, how he likes to make a lot of copies for his guest, which they don’t read and they were right! We have actually ordered more paper and a toner for the copy machine!
I thought maybe I could get him to make less copies, but so far I haven’t been able to! But he’s nice guy, calls us his DreamTeam!
(which by the way we are, because we got another 98% in the questionnaires of last weeks group!! Okay only the restaurant got a 99%, so we need to work on that!!)

So far it’s a nice group, I have had a lot of nice conversations and I have already scored a couple of titels for books to read! One of the guests has even promised me to give her the book she is reading, she’s sure to finish it at the end of the cruise and said I could have it, so she doesn’t have to carry it back home!! Fine by me!!!!

Every now and then some Bobo from the Head Office comes and stays a couple of nights on the ship, to inspect everything. And of course things have to be changed, which is pretty annoying, because there’s always more then one person making decisions about the same thing, one says it should be this way and the other says it should be that way!!!
(it would be soo nice if they would all just make up their minds and follow the same course!!)
Anyway, we have signs in the restaurant for breakfast, just in case the guests won’t be able to see what is in the bowls, you know sometimes breakfast can be very early!! So they all have to be exactly the same…which meant that I had to redo most of them!!!!
A while ago I had already changed what I thoought were all the BK signs because they didn’t have the right font…now I had to change them again because they were missing something. When I got the signs I also found a lot of really old ones, which I thought I had already gotten rid of…..
But today we made a list of things that were really needed, I had already made most of them and I also had to redo a couple which I thought would be okay. O well, all in a day’s work, but I do hope this is the last I will see of these signs!!haha


Love Linda


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Conflans-Sainte-Honorine

Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 106
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12067

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: