Yeah another story! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Yeah another story! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Yeah another story!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

17 April 2014 | Frankrijk, Rouen

April 15 th 2014

Well, one group had left to go back home or on to another cruise this morning, we are now getting ready for the nextr group this afternoon!
It was a very nice group, have gotten a lot of nice comments from people who appreciated my helping them with whatever it was they needed. And I got some nice comments about how it wasn’t showing that I had only started working on this ship in March, that felt really good!!!

We had one kind of weird thing though! There was this black couple, who came on board before the rest of the group, because the lady wasn’t feeling well. I thought it must have been from the jetlag or something like that. But that afternoon they went into their suite and she at least never came out until the day they had to go back home!!! She said she wasn’t feeling well, but didn’t ask for a doctor and ordered all her meals in her room, ordering wine with her meals too!!! They had signed up for some exursions, but they never showed!! And on the last day my senior had to go up to the room to explain the bill they still had to pay….
I don’t know I thought the whole thing was fishy and I think she was faking it! Glad they left!

Finally got my uniform at loading yesterday!! I got two jackets, two pairs of pants, two shirts with long sleeves and two with short sleeves, one skirt, one crew shirt and one crew jacket…and guess what?? I have to send back almost everything, because it doesn’t fit!!! The pants were weird, one fit, but was too short and the other one was long enough but too tight. Then the jackets, both the same size, but one was way too big and the other one fits, but I can’t really close the buttons, it’s too tight to do that!
The shirts were too big, all of them and the skirt is so-so..don’t really want to wear it with that stupid NightReceptionist (NR) flirting everyday!
The crew shirt and jacket are okay, think the jacket is big, but that’s okay, won’t be wearing that much.

Had a little heartattack this morning! I had to get up early to help check the luggage from the leaving passengers, so I check the names on the labels and tick them off on my list. Then the busdriver comes up to me saying he’s missing a suitcase!!! I’m like WHAT???!! There was nothing left on the boat, nothing left in the corridors, so it should be on the bus. I think he actually wanted to take all the suitcases out to look for it, but fortunately he came to his senses and just went to the airport. And he would go to the other terminals first, so the suitcases that were left, would be the ones he was missing!! I haven’t heard anything after that, so they were on the bus, everything was allright. But you start to doubt yourself, thinking Have I really seen that suitcase?! First time I had to check the luggage by myself and this happens, asshole!!! But it was allright in the end!

Okay, so so far I can get along with all my coworkers, some more then others, but that’s okay, I don’t have to be friends with all of them…but the NR, who has been flirting with me all this time, (hopefully got the hint that he’s not getting anywhere!) has really blown it now!!!
What an asshole!!!! Last night I had a guest who wanted to change something in her bill, which I hadn’t done before really, so I wanted to ask him about it.
I asked him to open a certain program we use on board and to go to the ladies room number….then he goes on and on about what I needed and I had to be clear to him, with my questions……I’m like I want to show you on the computer you big ….., but he just didn’t get it!! So finally I just gave him the receipts and let him work it out by himself!! In front of the guest too!!!
She could tell from my bodylanguage that I was not happy, when he wasn’t looking she gave me a little wink in understanding! It was soo weird!! All I wanted to do was show him on the computer instead of tell him, since his English is not all that well, it is better to show him the names and all, the changes that had to be made, but he just wouldn’t hear it.

Then today with check in of the new group, none of the room keys worked!!! They work for a certain period and every group gets new dates on, he had put in the wrong dates in all of them, so Jayson and I had to redo all of them while the guests were coming on board!!!
I don’t think he will be staying long, because nobody likes him and when you tell him what he’s done wrong he looks at you like you’re the one not in the right mind!!! The other day he had a guest pay in $, which is not a big problem if you change the $ to € first, but he accepted the $ and the coins too!! When the Hotelmanager asked him about it, he said he could change coins at his bank……idiot, no bank in the world wants to change coins, that’s why everyone is trying to get rid of them before they go home, or they’ll be stuck with it!!! He has all these kind of stupid things, has entire explanations of went wrong, but like I said looks at you like you’re the idiot!!

Sometimes working with people from other countries is hard, because we all speak English and not everyone is good at it, or understands it all. For instance the Head of Housekeeping had given me one of her scarfs when I had just started. Yesterday I had gotten 2 new ones, so I gave her a new one to replace the one she gave me…she actually asked me if that was the one she had given me, in other words had I given her back the one I had been wearing for about 2 months…when I told her no of course not, she said she was just asking….why would she think I would do that? This means she obviously doesn’t know me very well yet,plus she’s from Roemania, they have a tendency for suspision…it’s just hard to know what their thinking. They probably mean well, it just doesn’t sound nice, hard to explain, but I thinkyou get the picture!! Just like our Chef, he’s from Germany, they have no idea to be nice!! I mean even the language, they can say something nicely, it just never sounds nice at all!!

O well, it keeps you alert I guess!!haha
Write more later!
Love
Linda

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Rouen

Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 77
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12089

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: