Another story! - Reisverslag uit Breisach am Rhein, Duitsland van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Another story! - Reisverslag uit Breisach am Rhein, Duitsland van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Another story!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

17 April 2015 | Duitsland, Breisach am Rhein

April 16th 2015
Last Saturday the group that had so many familiar faces in it lef tour ship to go back home. It was good to see them again! According to the rating we got from this first cruise we did very well!! The reception team got a 99,7 %, even higher than the Housekeeping team! And there was a couple whom I had on the cruise last year who wrote that I was very helpful, that they had sailed with me before and that I remembered them! Sometimes it is good to be able to remember faces!
Eventually working with Isabel as Cruise Director wasn’t all that bad either. It was also her first cruise after her winterbreak, so also for her things were new. During the cruise I heard her say that her mother had died last year and how it took her at least 3 months to get back on her feet. So I said I was sorry to hear her mother had died and we talked a bit about it, I think she liked that. In the end she left happy, she enjoyed working with us and she was looking forward to seeing us again!
For this cruise we have a Dutch Cruise Director, Karolien Cazemier, whom I thought to be a pill too, but to be honest she’s not that bad either! It is kind of nice to have someone around who speaks my language, I try not to do it when there are guests around, but when she asks me something in Dutch I automatically answer in Dutch.
We also have a pretty nice group this time. Although we have a couple of British people who seem to turn complaining into a national sport (no offence! ) and right now we have a lady who says she has made a whole list of complaints, (among them that there’s not enough time to go shopping….) which she said she was going to give us, but so far we haven’t seen anything yet.
To be honest I don’t really care about the rating and all the comments we get on the questionnaires. Ok I won’t deny that it is nice to have them mention you by name, but on the whole I don’t do anything with it. I mean the whole cruise could be great, then something happens that they don’t like and they rate the whole cruise as bad…it’s just a moment in time really. So I say as long as we don’t get less than 90%, I’m good!
I don’t even know if there’s a standard percentage we are supposed to get, never heard any complaints that we were below a certain average, so I don’t think we have anything to worry about.
We were supposed to get 123 people on board for this new cruise, but the next day we were missing one person. When we asked the roommate about her absence, told us that they had kept her at the airport, that she wasn’t allowed to leave the country. Which we thought was a bit odd, so we checked with the person who is in charge of the group and she verified the story. Your passport is supposed to be valid three months after you come back from your vacation and hers was 7 days short of three months!! Can you believe it?? Imagine standing at the airport, ready to go on a trip you’ve been saving your money for, only to find out that they won’t let you go!! Now I don’t know if someone made her aware of this point or wether she forgot to get a new passport, but still….I thought it was really sad.
It is amazing how this company works!! We have a new portal where we can find everything for every cruise, instead of getting 100 emails about it. In the week with Isabel we had 2 Brazilian guests on board, so we had all the daily newsletters translated for them. We also had a Portugese menu, but that was impossible to give them, because our Chef changes everything in the menu daily. At the end of each cruise people get a future cruise voucher and the questionnaire. So I asked the company if they could tell me where I could find these in Portugese…I got the reply that this was not a Brazilian-Friendly cruise, so therefore I was to give them the English ones. Ok so we did.
Next week we also have 2 Brazilian guests, so more sets of translated daily newsletters and menu’s and guess what?! We got an email saying that there were future cruise vouchers and questionnaires in Portugese to be found on the portal…so all of a sudden this cruise is Brazilian-Friendly??? How so and who decides this?? It’s just funny to see how they contradict themselves and that I was right in the first place!!
Anyway, of course on every cruise we also have a crew show, unfortunately!
Last week was our first attempt to make something of it and I think we did pretty good. I wasn’t in it, because we weren’t able to find the skit I was supposed to do in English, lucky me! And I’ve already told our HM that I will not be doing the same thing as I have been doing last year!!!
We have about 10 skits from which we will pick 7 to fill up one show, so not everyone has to do the same thing every week.
But last Wednesday I had a sort of “Me and my big mouth” feeling….Our HM was the MC last week and me and the Chef had already told him that we could take turns, he doesn’t have to do it every week either, so last week he asked me if I was going to do it this week and I said sure….so now I wondered what the hell I was thinking of when I said that!!! Haha
So last Wednesday I was the MC, the one who talked her way through the evening announcing all the skits…..It was terrifying!!! The HM told me that if I felt like I couldn’t go on, he would gladly push me back onto the stage! Hahah
But I did it, I just thought of my Grandma, who is pretty good at doing something like this (everyone always asks her when something like this needs to be done!) and it worked, I pulled it of!!! Haha
Actually it was kind of fun to do it, a little joke here and there and the crew was doing the rest!
After the show we told the Chef that he was up next week and he offered me 20 euro’s to do it for him!! Haha I asked him if that was 20 euro’s per skit!!!
So we’ll see how it goes next week! Of course the HM had to tell everyone that it was my first time doing this and I got a lot of nice feedback from the guests! Could be the start of a whole new career!!

Love Linda

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Duitsland, Breisach am Rhein

A new adventure!!!

HI Everyone,

Yes, my vacation is almost over, I'm about to work my ass off again!!

Last year I came home with a contract for Second receptionist, they said I might get a new contract for Senior receptionist, but to be honest I didn't think that would happen anymore. I was actually looking for some courses I could take while I was working.

But this February they did offer me a new contract for Senior! I really did not see that one coming!!
I did have to think about it a little, you know "can I do this, I've only done it for 2 weeks last year, do I still know what to do"...the usual.

But I have decided to take this challenge and make the best of it!!
I'm very nervous about it, really scared, but ot be honest with myself I also know that if I were to work as Second again, I would become bored...I know what to do and it is not that hard...So being Senior will be good!

I'm hoping to get my own cabin this season, I will definately NOT be moving around like last year and I'm going to take 3 weeks off instead of 2 like last year, because that is just way too short!

Plus I'm going to treat myself to a trip to Australia at the end of the season, I was already planning to do this, but now it will definately be this carrot in front of my nose, to get me through this season!

I have also been invited to a Kick Off Meeting in Cologne, where I will be going tomorrow.
I thought this would be some kind of training, but it will be more of a discussion thing where we are going to come up with ways to make the Avalon guest even more happy then they already are!
I think we will also get some kind of First Aid training.

I will get to see some of my co-workers from last season, so that will be fun...plus I can ask them to tell me how things went in case I forget!

Then on the 10th of March I will go back to Arnhem, visit my rabbit in Almere and on the 19th of March I will go back to work for real...only I still don't know on which ship or which country for that matter, I'm hoping to find out next week!

I'll keep you posted!!

Love
Linda

Recente Reisverslagen:

16 November 2015

It took a while..

01 November 2015

Two more weeks to go

15 Oktober 2015

Hello again!

29 September 2015

With love from Rudesheim

17 September 2015

I'm back!!
Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 236
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12056

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: