Yeah, new room! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu Yeah, new room! - Reisverslag uit Rouen, Frankrijk van Linda Damhuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Yeah, new room!

Door: Linda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Linda

05 September 2014 | Frankrijk, Rouen

30th of August 2014
Alright, forget about what I said about people becoming more of a group, because this cruisedirector asks the mto become a part of the world of Avalon….the very next day they were divided already!
On the first day Jayson and I hand out the receivers to get the guests used to picking up their shorepasses before they leave. And already they were asking for 4 or 6 receivers because they wanted to be in the same group! Okay, I understand that when you travel with a group you would like to stay together, but wouldn’t it be more fun to just split up for excursions and meet each other again at dinner to swap stories of your day??O well, that’s just my opinion though.
Today was the first day where we left 20 minutes later than planned! On Saturday we always go from Les Andelys to Conflans and we leave at a quarter to 12. That is written in the daily newsletter and we always have signs on the door saying what time we are leaving. Normally we have people coming in at the last minute or maybe 5 minutes later, but today we actually waited for 20 minutes for 2 people to come back. And they were not in a particular hurry at all, they thought we weren’t leaving until 12..which meant they were still late, because they didn’t come back until after 12! Making sure everyone is here is always a bit stressfull, you want to make sure everyone is here, don’t want to leave anyone behind. And so far we have been lucky, everyone was here! Except that one time when we missed a crewmember, but that was his own fault, he didn’t check the time!
On Friday’s when everyone is on the excursion to the Landing Beaches, things are a little boring. There’s no one here, most crewmembers are off and I’m sitting there at reception...lately I’m checking the pinterest website, which is actually kind of dangerous, because now I want to go home and start my own DIY projects right away!!!! I have found some cool things to do for Christmas, which I may be able to start here already!
I’ve managed to finish a couple of books and I’ve found some nice ones in our little “library”. As soon as I’ve finished those I’m going to put them back in the library for the next booklover! Haha
So it is Wednesday 9/3 already, we have said goodbye to the last group on Tuesday and Tony has also left us. We will see him again in October. Now we have a group of 133 people and Yvette for Cruisedirector. And I’m sorry, no matter how nice she is, I still don’t like her!! Yes she has offered me the use of her room again, because she had moved to another empty cabin, but still. I didn’t take it this time, because it wasn’t as urgent as it was last time. If I were to take it now, people wouldn’t like me.
Plus I already had a bed in the cabin of the Souschef. I had already talked to Anita, my roommate about moving out on the 8th, but as I was about to change the linen on my bed, the Housekeeper asked me if I was moving to my new room already.. Last Tuesday 2 people moved out, so one of the cabins was empty. One lady for the housekeeping moved in and I was to move in with her next week, but as I wanted to change the linen anyway, it wouldn’t make sense to have to do it again next week. At first I wanted to stay with Anita longer, because I liked sleeping in the bottom bed. But it turned out that Monica, my new roommate, was already sleeping in the top bed, so I decided to move in today! I took all my stuff out of the Hairdressers cabin and the rest from the Souschefs cabin and here I am!
The room I am in now is one that has 3 beds, a bunk bed and one of those folding beds, that folds into the wall so to speak. Above that folding bed we have to cabinets and we have to big closets like in the other cabins. Because of the folding bed, there’s no desk. We have a minibar, which we use as a table, because we don’t have anything else. It takes a little getting used to, new room, where am I going to put what, but it will be alright. It is closer to the crewmess and the engineroom, I wonder what that is going to be like. The tv can be really loud sometimes and people are constantly going in and out. I guess I will have to use my earplus more often. But I don’t care, no matter what happens, I’m not moving anymore!!! If they’re looking for a bed, let someone else do the moving around!! I have moved at least 7 times in 1 ½ months!!
This week we also have the guy that builds the ships for Avalon on board. Usually he only comes for a day to look at how things are, but this time the company offered him an entire week. He happens to be Dutch. He’s here to look at things that can be improved on the next ships that are going to be build. I hope he will also look at things that can be improved on this ship, but we will see!
Anyway, a couple of days ago a couple of people were complaining about the heat in their room. The third deck had the sun in the room almost the entire afternoon. One of the guests was threating that he wanted another room. He said he had COPD and he had turned the airco to cold air on the highest range, but it seemed like it was getting hotter. With that he was unable to breathe. He was really pissed and I didn’t really know what to do at the time. A couple of minutes after he stopped by the desk, his wife called and I asked her if I could come over to take a look at things, it is hard to say what people should do over the phone. So I went there and I saw that they did have the airco the right way, but it was already at it’s full capacity. So we agreed I’d go and look for a fan, which I was able to find and they were very happy.
After this I had a conversation with the shipbuilder and I asked him what could be done about this. He said he had already adviced the company to put foil on the windows to keep the heat out. But that was too expensive, so now there’s only foil on the windows in the lounge and the restaurant. Then we got to talking about other things I’ve noticed so far. For example at the entrance doors there’s a ledge(?), which isn’t all that high, but I have seen people trip over it a couple of times now when they come in.Fortunately nothing serious has happened so far. I asked him if that could be lower, so people wouldn’t trip. Then as you go down the stairs to get to the restaurant or the first level, you have to watch your head. The ceiling is pretty low and you really have to duck to avoid hitting it. I’m not one of the tallest people here, but I have already managed to hit my head and that was not good! He told me that they have already worked on that in the other ships, so that’s good. And finally I asked him if something could be done about the reading lights by the beds. We’ve had several people asking us for stronger lightbulbs, because they could read with this light. And he said he would take that into account! Then the next day I asked him if it was possible to just put the foil on the windows on the third floor, instead of second and third, because they would benefit the most out of it. The third floor is also directly under the roof, so it is always hotter in those rooms then any room below that level. He said he would think about that too!
So I should try to get a job on any of the next ships that are being build and see the changes he has made in them!!haha
It was fun talking to him, we must have been talking for at least an hour or so!
Tried to get a headstart on some Christmas ornaments I had seen on Pinterest, but I couldn’t find anything to make them with. Plus I have most of that stuff at home, so it wouldn’t make sense to buy it here. It would only mean I have to drag it home with me anyway! Haha
Love
Linda


Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Rouen

Linda

Actief sinds 19 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 116
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11984

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Maart 2017 - 03 Mei 2017

Philadelphia here we come!!

29 November 2015 - 26 Januari 2016

Australie Adventure!

28 Februari 2015 - 15 November 2015

A new adventure!!!

20 Maart 2014 - 15 November 2014

Working on a rivercruiseship!!

Landen bezocht: